This event has now finished. View all upcoming events

Join us for a conversation about the impacts of the Covid-19 on people seeking asylum and refugees, and the lack of support being offered by the Federal government. We will hear from a range of incredible speakers and artists and then take collective action in support of the #NoChildLeftBehind campaign.

7pm AEST/6.30pm ACST/5pm AWST

The Solidarity Assembly is designed for students, teachers, parents and members of the public to learn more about the issues and how you can get involved in the campaign to help achieve change. We will cover the current policy context for people seeking asylum, hear directly from someone in the process, learn about the human rights implications of the current situation and appreciate some amazing poetry and artistry. Finally we will provide a range of opportunities to ensure Minister Ruston hears our call loud and clear.

You can bring as many people along as you like, and don't forget to share the event with other schools and community groups in your area!

Speakers

Edward Santow, Human Rights Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission

Shabnam Safa - Chair of the National Refugee-led Advisory and Advocacy Group (NRAAG)

Shukufa Tahiri - Policy Officer at the Refugee Council of Australia

Sandra* - Young woman seeking asylum

Hani Abdile - Writer and spoken word artist

Zoom details will be provided closer to the date.

If you are unable to attend this time and date, you can watch the repeated recording on Thursday 10 September. RSVP here.

 

*this is a pseudonym to protect Sandra's identity

#RightTrack events are happening across the country:

View past #RightTrack events.